Archive 2008 - 2019

Holliston Dems Attend Convention

by Lisa Kaplan

Holliston was well-represented at the 2018 Massachusetts  Democratic Convention Friday and Saturday, June 1 and 2 at the DCU Center in Worcester. First-time delegates included Laura Rainsford, Joan Levinsohn, Rich Rosenberry, Tor Kinlok, Mary Kinsella, youth delegate Ben Kaplan and alternate delegate Joan Hunter-Brody. Veteran convention delegates attending were Lee DeSorgher, Judy Gagnon, Linda Arkow, Bill Blinstrub, Lisa Kaplan, Rob Cassidy, Rep. Carolyn Dykema and alternate delegates Utah Nickel and Tony Damigella.

Friday evening speakers were those candidates for statewide office in uncontested primary races: Auditor Suzanne Bump, Treasurer Deb Goldberg, Attorney General Maura Healey and U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren.

Nearly 6,000 delegates heard speeches Saturday, followed by voting to officially endorse candidates for the Democratic nominee for Governor, Lt. Governor, and Secretary of State. Jay Gonzalez, Quentin Palfrey and Josh Zakim received the majority of the votes, respectively, for endorsement by the party. Their opponents, Bob Massie, Jimmy Tingle and Secretary of State Bill Galvin all received well over the required 15% necessary to appear on the September 4 Democratic primary ballot as well.

For more information about the Holliston Democratic Town Committee, contact Chair Lisa Kaplan at