Archive 2008 - 2019

Holliston UF Season Wraps Up

by Matt Varrell

The Holliston High School Ultimate Frisbee team closed out its season with its annual team banquet and awards ceremony held at FCC's Jordan Hall. The entire team turned out to recognize all junior varsity and varsity players, while enjoying a catered meal from Blue Ribbon BBQ.

After a successful season where the Panthers went 16-12 overall (finishing in 4th place in state for Division 2), the following awards were handed out by coaches Chris Levasseur and Jefferson Wood:

  • Andover Tournament MVP Disc - Peter Georgakopoulos
  • Abington Tournament MVP Disc - Liam O'Brien
  • State Tournament MVP Disc - Teddy Campbell
  • Rookie of the Year - Ben Durkee
  • Most Improved Player - Jesse Zanghi
  • Offensive Player of the Year - Carl Berg
  • Defensive Player of the Year - Teddy Campbell
  • Toughest Competitor Award - Andrew Stering
  • Spirit of the Game Award - Matt Ristaino
  • Most Valuable Player - Rusty Varrell

Players selected to represent Holliston in the Division 2 State All-Star game were: Carl Berg and Rusty Varrell with Teddy Campbell and Corey Cox as alternates. Varrell and Campbell participated in the game held in Medford on June 8th.

Ben Durke, above,  is presented the 2014 Rookie-of-the-year Award.

The coaches also announced the captains for the 2015 season, as voted by the team and determined by the coaching staff. They are seniors Corey Cox and Max Heihsel and junior Lee Mogren. Congratulations!

The 2015 HHS UF Tri-Captains

For anyone interested in trying their hand at playing Ultimate (especially incoming freshmen boys and girls) , there will be pick-up games throughout the summer at Holliston High School on Wednesday nights at 6:30pm. Come out to play or sit in the stands and see what it is all about. All ages and abilities are welcome. For more information, contact Chris Levasseur at