Archive 2008 - 2019

Holliston School Committee News

by Lisa Kocain

Did You Know?

For the second year in a row, Holliston students won a prestigious accolade because of their impressive participation and performance on Advanced Placement exams. Holliston Public Schools was one of 433 school districts in the United States and Canada named to the 7th Annual AP District Honor Roll. For perspective, there are more than 14,000 public school districts in the country, according to the U.S. Census Bureau, so about 3 percent of districts made the list.

School Committee Members Get a Lesson in Social-Emotional Learning (SEL)

On January 17, State Senator Karen Spilka sponsored a presentation on social-emotional learning through her MetroWest Kids Initiatives.

Presenter Ruth Cross is a senior SEL consultant at the Chicago-based nonprofit organization, the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL).
Ms. Cross provided an introduction to the five core competencies of SEL: self awareness, self management, social awareness, relationship skills, and responsible decision making. She advocated for a holistic approach to these core competencies, which she believes should be integrated into our district-wide strategic plans, our curriculum, our policies, our communities, and our families. “The key to learning is engagement… A passive delivery system does not engage children in the process of learning,” she said. To learn more about CASEL, please visit its website at

It Ain’t Easy Being Green

The Green Committee met on January 4, and discussed its goal of increasing recycling in our cafeterias. The long-term goal, which will be challenging, is effectively a “zero trash” cafeteria. This will hopefully be accomplished by increasing recycling, encouraging students who bring lunch to utilize reusable containers, and adding a composting program. Our first step in this process is to add plastic bottle recycling to cafeterias that do not currently have this option.

Feel free to contact any committee member with questions or comments. Please note we all have new email addresses:

Anne Louise Hanstad, Chair

Stacey Raffi, Vice Chair          

Martha Devoe                    

Lisa Kocian                        

Cynthia Listewnik           

Andy Morton                     

Joan Shaughnessy